Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University
Family & Consumer Sciences

Extension HELPS YOU Live Well

Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service Southeast District Family & Consumer Sciences Program Highlights Southeast

Find an educator

Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service Northeast District Family & Consumer Sciences Program Highlights

Southeast County

The Southeast District is comprised of 19 counties located south of I-40 and East of I-35.   Of the 19 counties, 11 are staffed with 2 Educators having dual responsibilities for FCS (50% FTE) and 4-H (50% FTE).  Seven counties are staffed with three or more Educators, and one county is staffed with one Educator.  Three of the FCS Educators in the SE District serve as County Extension Directors, (CED).  In addition to providing FCS educational programming that addresses critical issues in their respective counties, County Educators serve as County Advisors for Oklahoma Home and Community Education members.  The District Office is located in the town of Ada in Pontotoc County.  District office staff includes:

  • Claude Bess, District Extension Director
  • Cheryl Newberry, District Extension 4-H Program Specialist
  • Mamie Thompson, CNEP Area Coordinator
  • Chris Rice, Area Agronomy Specialist
  • Brian Freking, Area Livestock Specialist
  • Barry Whitworth, Area Food, Animal Quality and Health Specialist
  • J. J. Jones, Area Ag Economics Specialist
  • Susan Rose, District Administrative Assistant
  • Sherry Richardson, District Administrative Support Specialist
  • Shannon Hill, CNEP Administrative Support Assistant
  • Diane Huff, District Administrative Support Assistant



Community Nutrition Education Programs – Area Coordinators supervise and train paraprofessionals across a multi-county unit.  Paraprofessionals, or Nutrition Education Assistants (NEAs), teach nutrition education to limited income families.

Kiamichi UnitKiamichi Unit Linda Lowber PH (918) 423-4120 FTE: 100% Area Coordinator, Educator since 2016.  This unit covers Choctaw, Haskell, LeFlore, McCurtain, Pittsburg, and Pushmataha Counties.  .






ulsa Unit – Jan DawsonPontotoc UnitMamie Thompson PH (580)332-4100 FTE: 100% Area Coordinator, Educator Since 2014 This unit covers Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Coal, Johnston, Marshall, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, and Seminole Counties.