Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University


The College of Human Sciences honored faculty and staff during its annual Holiday Celebration.                          

Sharon Klingaman and Elizabeth Whitfield received STAR Awards for the Service, Teamwork, Attitude and Reliability Elizabeththey demonstrate in the daily activities their positions require.

Klingaman is an administrative assistant in the Nutritional Sciences Department where she is considered a valuable member of the team.  Her nominators described her willingness to serve students and faculty as critical to the success of the department.

“Sharon goes out of her way to help faculty staff and students solve their problems while injecting a little levity into difficult conversations,” one nominator said.

“Even our candidates for open positions talk about how friendly and helpful Sharon is in preparing them to visit the university. She is a wonderful representative of all that makes this college a collegial and supportive place to work.”

Klingaman has been honored previously in 1996 and 2010 for her outstanding service to the college.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Elizabeth Whitfield and Sharon Klingaman 
As an administrative associate in Academic Programs and Services, Whitfield responds accurately and efficiently to numerous requests from the college’s academic units on a daily basis. She is a knowledgeable and informed mentor to staff throughout the college.

“She typically knows the answers or knows where to get the answers,” said her nominator. 

Whitfield’s efforts impact Human Sciences students too as she plays an integral role in the scholarship process.

“Elizabeth has transformed the undergraduate scholarship application and awards system to ensure much greater accuracy and sensitivity to timelines,” Dr. Shiretta Ownbey said. 

She serves every student who receives a scholarship by attending to receipt of their acceptance materials and addressing questions students have regarding how and when their scholarships will be paid.”

“Employees like Sharon and Elizabeth illustrate the importance the College of Human Sciences places on customer service to our faculty, students, parents, co-workers and members of the community,” Dean Stephan Wilson said. “Congratulations to them on their well-deserved awards.” Brenda     
Nutritional Sciences Professor Brenda Smith received the Human Sciences Undergraduate Research Mentor Award. Smith patiently teaches undergraduate students the concepts and techniques needed to succeed in research. 

“She trains her undergraduate students to think critically to become capable in developing different approaches in solving nutrition problems,” Dr. Edralin Lucas said. 

“Because of her reputation, undergraduate students seek her to be their mentor to gain research experience.”

As the John and Sue Taylor Professor, Smith allocates a portion of the endowment to support travel expenses for undergraduate student to attend professional meetings. 

Smith’s open door policy, constant encouragement, consistency and generous time commitment have resulted in numerous awards for students’ research projects.  An impressive list of Niblack, Wentz and Freshman Scholars as well as a large number of students who completed honors thesis are proof of her dedication to students’ success. 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Dr. Brenda Smith and Dr. Christine Johnson.